Board of Directors

Kumar Srikantan

Chairman, Board of Directors

Kumar was VP/GM of HW Engineering for the Enterprise Networking Business at Cisco where he was responsible for the HW engineering execution of Cisco’s Enterprise Networking portfolio. Kumar brings 25 years of diverse leadership and operational experience in the technology industry that spans development, marketing, and engineering across computing, silicon and communications industries.

Mukul Chawla

Member, Board of Directors

Mukul Chawla is a Managing Director at Temasek, and focuses on investments in the technology, media and telecom sectors. He is a Director of Internet Brands and Pluribus Networks; and also led investments in Ancestry.com, Jasper, Virtu Financial, AirBnB, Fanatics, Marin Software, AsiaInfo, Xiaomi and Snapdeal. Prior to joining Temasek, he worked at Warburg Pincus, Cisco Systems and served a term appointment at the U.S. Federal Communications Commission. Mr. Chawla received a B.S. from the Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Pilani; an M.S. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and an M.B.A. from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. He holds two U.S. patents in networking systems.

Robert Drost

Member, Board of Directors and Co-Founder

Robert Drost was a Sr. Distinguished Engineer and Director of Advanced Hardware at Sun Microsystems. Robert has extensive hardware experience, including over 90 patents and a 17 year career in high-performance computing systems. Among other recognitions, Robert has been cited by MIT’s Technology Review TR35 as most innovative computing technologist under age 35, and by the Wall Street Journal with a Gold Medal for Innovation in Computing Systems. Robert is a co-founder of Pluribus Networks and most recently served as the company’s Chief Operations Officer.

Krishna “Kittu” Kolluri

Member, Board of Directors

Kittu joined NEA in 2006 as a General Partner, he focuses on information technology and energy technology investments. Kittu serves on several boards for NEA portfolio companies. Prior to NEA, Kittu was Executive VP and GM for the Security Products Group at Juniper Networks, after NetScreen’s acquisition by Juniper in 2004. Kittu served briefly as GM of NetScreen’s Secure Access Products after NetScreen’s acquisition of Neoteris in 2003. Kittu was President and CEO of Neoteris, the leader of SSL-based Application Security Gateway market, where his leadership resulted in multiple corporate and product milestones. Kittu co-founded Healtheon/WebMD, and initially managed engineering before moving through key operational and general management roles, and eventually Senior VP and GM of Provider Services. Previously, Kittu worked at Silicon Graphics, Inc. (SGI) managing developer products and later high profile Interactive TV projects. Kittu earned a B.Tech. (M.E.) from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India, and an M.S. in Operations Research from SUNY, Buffalo, NY.

Mark Siegel

Member, Board of Directors

Mark joined Menlo Ventures in 1996 and focuses on investments in data storage, cloud computing, big data, and digital advertising. Mark’s active investments and board seats include Dropcam, Dstillery, eXelate, Getaround, Invidi, PernixData, Pluribus Networks, Tintri, Voltage Security and Warby Parker. Some of his previous board seats include 3PAR (acquired by HP), Pliant Technology (acquired by SanDisk), RNA Networks (acquired by Dell), BlueGill Technologies (acquired by Checkfree), and Rubric (acquired by Broadbase).

Mark is a graduate of MIT (B.S. in Physics with Electrical Engineering) and the Stanford Graduate School of Business. At MIT, Mark did computer modeling of dark matter and galaxy formation which eventually landed him as a product manager for Oracle’s Massively Parallel Processing Group. In this role, he was part of the original team that developed and deployed one of the first true massively parallel and multi-threaded commercial software offerings – the Oracle Parallel Server. Mark then started and managed a consulting group at Oracle dedicated to serving early customers of this product. In business school, Mark got the startup bug and went on to work in business development for Netscape from the first year of its inception through its IPO in 1996.

Jim Smith

Member, Board of Directors

Mr. Jim Smith, Ph.D., serves as General Partner of Mohr, Davidow Ventures. Mr. Smith leads investments in startups and hardware at Mohr, Davidow. Mr. Smith joined Mohr Davidow in 1999 after a successful career as a Hardware Designer developing computer systems. He spent six years developing computing architectures and integrated circuits for high performance multimedia systems at Silicon Graphics, Inc. He was employed at Graphics Properties Holdings, Inc. Mr. Smith spent three years as a Researcher in the Computer Systems Laboratory at Stanford University. Mr. Smith holds a Doctorate in Electrical Engineering and a Masters degree in Industrial Management and Electrical Engineering, and Bachelors degree in Computer Systems Engineering from Stanford University.

Pete Sonsini

Member, Board of Directors

Pete joined NEA in 2005 and focuses on early-stage enterprise software, services, and systems companies. He is the co-head of NEA’s enterprise software practice group. Past investments include Pentaho (acquired by Hitachi), Teracent (acquired by Google) and Xensource (acquired by Citrix Systems). Prior to NEA, Pete was Senior Director of Strategic Alliances at VMware where he struck the company’s initial OEM deals and grew annual sales through OEMs from $0 to $40 million in four years. Pete ran product management at Mirapoint and worked in sales and marketing at HP.

Sunay Tripathi

Member, Board of Directors and Co-Founder

Sunay Tripathi was a Senior Distinguished Engineer for Sun Microsystems, and was the Chief Architect for Kernel/Network Virtualization in Core Solaris OS. Sunay has an extensive 20+ year software background, and was one of the top code contributors to Solaris. Sunay holds over 50 patents encompassing network and server virtualization. Sunay is a co-founder of Pluribus Networks and most recently served as the company’s Chief Technology Officer.

C.K. Ken Yang

Member, Board of Directors and Co-Founder

C.K. Ken Yang is a Tenured Professor of EE at UCLA (on sabbatical) with a focus on high-performance communication. Ken is a leading expert in digital communications, computing systems, and IC design. Ken brings 15 years of consulting, design, and research experience with the foremost companies in the electronics industry to Pluribus Networks as well as several key engagements with leading Hardware startups. Ken is a co-founder of Pluribus Networks and most recently served as the company’s Vice President, Product Engineering.

Jerry Yang

Member, Board of Directors

Jerry co-founded Yahoo! in 1995 and served on its Board and as a member of its executive team until 2012. Jerry was instrumental in building Yahoo!’s relationships with Yahoo! Japan and Alibaba and continues to be a thought leader in China and Asia. Jerry currently sits on Stanford University’s Board of Trustees, where he is a Vice-Chair, and is also a Board Observer for Lenovo.